29.3 C
Tuesday 21 September 2021
HomeAfricaAviAssist Foundation seeks nominations for African Aviator Award

AviAssist Foundation seeks nominations for African Aviator Award

The London-based AviAssist Foundation has called for nominations for the African Aviator Award, a statement said on Saturday.

The statement, which was made available to PANA in New York, stated that the prestigious African Aviator Award was aimed at rewarding safety champions and promote entry of Africans in the aviation industry.

It will include a trip to the awarding event, US$500 in cash and a hand-lettered citation.

“Everyday, thousands of professionals in Africa contribute to making commercial aviation the safest form of transportation,”the statement said.

“They do so not because they expect special recognition. They think safety and act in ways that promote safety because they know the aviation industry depends on it, and because it is the right thing to do.”

It said aggregate data for the entire continent masks the gains from their professionalism and the role of safety champions among them.

The statement said that AviAssist Foundation could not salute all these men and women individually, “although it pays tribute to them through its work”.

“From 2012 onwards, the AviAssist Foundation will single out individuals or teams that have made especially outstanding contributions to risk reduction, often during long periods or entire careers and award the African Aviator Award,” AviAssist Director Tom Kok, said.

He disclosed that each year, the AviAssist Foundation will select a particular aviation profession as the focus for the award.

For 2012, the selected profession for the award is Air Traffic Management/Control in its widest sense, with the award being offered in co-operation with the Civil Air Navigation Services Organisation (CANSO), Kok stated.

The recipient of this prestigious international award will be selected by an independent selection board from among candidates nominated by aviation professionals and organizations worldwide.

The winner of the 2012 award will be selected from the nominations.

The deadline for nominations for the African Aviator award is September 1, 2012.

The award will be presented during an award dinner and awards ceremony at the 2012 CANSO Global ATM Safety Conference in Cape Town, South Africa on 29 October-2 November, in front of an audience of industry leaders and colleagues.

The 2012 award was instituted by the AviAssist Foundation in co-operation with the Civil Air Navigation Services Organisation CANSO with sponsoring from among others CANSO, ATNS South Africa and KLM Airlines


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -