15.9 C
Friday 3 February 2023
HomeAfricaMauritania: Mauritania, Cote d'Ivoire sign 5 cooperation pacts

Mauritania: Mauritania, Cote d’Ivoire sign 5 cooperation pacts

Mauritania and Cote d’Ivoire have signed five cooperation agreements, in the culmination of the visit to Nouakchott by Ivorian Foreign Minister Charles Koffi Diby, PANA reported Monday.

Mauritanian Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation Ahmed Ould Teguedy and Diby signed the pacts here Sunday evening.

The agreements focus on the setting up of a joint cooperation commission, which will hold its first session in Abidjan next year, the free movement of people, goods and services, fishing and aquaculture.

The two parties also decided to set up a joint committee to monitor the future recommendations of the joint cooperation commission, in a bid to evaluate the implementation of the different decisions made.

The Mauritanian and Ivorian private sector will also be involved in the dynamics of the renewed cooperation between Nouakchott and Abidjan.

The Chamber of Commerce in Mauritania (CCIAM) and that of Cote d’Ivoire signed a cooperation agreement 27 Feb. 2012.

While Mauritania and Cote d’Ivoire are both West African countries, Mauritania is not a member of the regional Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), having withdrawn from the body in 1999.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -