43.9 C
Wednesday 23 June 2021
HomeNewsTunisia officially becomes member of COMESA

Tunisia officially becomes member of COMESA

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Khemaies Jhinaoui ratified, on Wednesday in Lusaka, capital of Zambia, the Treaty of Accession of Tunisia to the Common Market of Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA). This was on the occasion of the Summit of Heads of State and Government of the member countries of this institution.

Tunisia, the 20th permanent member of COMESA, will systematically have access to the triangular free trade area which includes, in addition to COMESA, the East African Community (EAC) and the African Development Community (SADC) which represents a market of 500 million people with trade valued at more than 110 billion dollars annually.

In addition to Tunisia, COMESA has 19 member countries namely Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -